Managing SharePoint Groups and User Permissions in WSS v3

One of the most useful SharePoint features is the ability to limit access to secure parts of your site, while keeping other site resources open and available. By managing these permission settings, you can simplify use for users that may only need access to a single resource. Plus, slimming down accessibility makes SharePoint less cumbersome and intimidating for newbies or part time users.

In SharePoint, you can customize user capabilities at both the Group and User level. Below we will discuss the ways you can create, delete and edit these permissions.

SharePoint Groups

When you create a SharePoint group, you can define specific permission settings that are unique to the members of that group. If you have a large number of users, groups make it easy to assign specific permissions and site access to multiple users at a time. Groups can also be given names to help distinguish what rights or access those users have within the SharePoint site.

SharePoint includes three default Groups:

  • Team Site Owners– Full control to modify all information and settings on the WSS site
  • Team Site Members– Ability to view, add, update and delete information on the WSS Site
  • Team Site Visitors– Limited ability to view, but not contribute, to the WSS Site

How To Add a SharePoint Group

  1. Log into SharePoint as an Administrator/Owner
  2. On the Quick Launch bar on the left, click People and Groups
    OR on the far right, click Site actions>>Site Settings. Then under Users and Permissions select People and Groups
  3. Click the small arrow next to New and select New Group from the drop down
  4. Fill out the details:
    1. Name – Name of the Group
    2. Owner – This can be a single user or an entire group of users. Either way, the owner will act as the “Head Honcho” for the group, with full control over member additions/deletions and the group itself.
    3. Group Settings – Define who can view and edit membership status for users in the group.
    4. Membership Requests – Define how requests are handled, or whether you want them at all.
    5. Group Permissions – Set the default permission level that will be assigned to all users within the group.
  5. Click Create

How to Add/Delete Users in a SharePoint Group

  1. Log in to SharePoint as a user with Administrator privileges.
  2. On the Quick Launch bar, choose People and Groups.
    OR click Site Actions>>Site Settings. Then under Users and Permissions select People and Groups.
  3. On the left, click on the SharePoint Group from which you would like to Add/Remove a user.
  4. To Add a user:
    1. Click the arrow next to New, then select Add Users from the drop down.
    2. Type in the name or browser to select your user.
    3. Under Give Permissions, add them to the appropriate group.
  5. To Delete a User:
    1. Click on the Checkbox to the left of the user you want to Delete.
    2. Click Actions>>Remove Users from Group
    3. Click OK to confirm the delete, click Cancel if you change your mind.

How To Edit or Delete a SharePoint Group

  1. Log in to SharePoint as a user with Administrator privileges.
  2. On the Quick Launch bar, click People and Groups.
  3. On the left, select the Group you want to Edit or Delete.
  4. Click Settings>>Group Settings
  5. Make the changes you would like to make to that group.
    OR to delete, scroll to the bottom and click the Delete button.

Alternately, if you would like to Edit from a list of all groups, from the Quick Launch Bar, click More. Then the Edit button next to the group you would like to edit/delete.

SharePoint Users

How to Add a SharePoint User

  1. Log in to SharePoint as a user with Administrator privileges.
  2. On the Quick Launch bar, choose People and Groups and click All People.
    OR click Site Actions>>Site Settings>>People and Groups and click All People.
  3. Click the arrow next to New and select Add Users from the drop down.
  4. Fill out all information regarding that user
    1. Enter the Name(s) of the Users, group names, or email accounts that you would like to assign
    2. Enter the permissions, either by adding them to a specific Group with set permissions or by giving the individual their own privileges.
    3. Add a personal email message if you would like to send them one upon adding them as a User. (This is especially useful if you’re doing several at one time.)
  5. Click OK

How to Edit or Delete a SharePoint User

  1. Log into SharePoint as a user with Administrator privileges.
  2. On the Quick Launch bar, choose People and Groups and then click All People. This will show a list of all Users, regardless of what Groups they are in.
  3. Click on the User that you wish to Edit/Delete. This will open a new page with the options to Edit Item,Delete User from Site Collection or Change Password.
  4. Make your changes and confirm by selecting OK when completed.

For more help, see our SharePoint Tutorial Video on Deleting a SharePoint Group.